Activate and manage members in Typetalk

The member activation feature in Typetalk allows Administrators to control which members in their organization can use Typetalk.

Contents:

  • How to activate/deactivate Typetalk members
  • Defaults when inviting new members
  • How to automatically activate new members
  • As a member, how do I request access to Typetalk?
  • Billing for activated members only
  • What happens when you deactivate a member?

How to activate/deactivate Typetalk members

  1. In Typetalk, click on the Settings icon on the bottom of the left-hand menu.
  2. Under the Manage Organization section, click on Members.
  3. Find the member you would like to manage and use the Active toggle to activate or deactivate their Typetalk access.

Note: If a team is invited to a Typetalk topic, deactivated members will not be able to access the topic. You must ensure that each team member’s account is active.

In case you are not familiar with teams in Nulab products, it’s a way of managing members more conveniently. You can create teams so that it’s easier to add them as a group to Typetalk topics, Backlog projects, or Cacoo folders, etc. Refer to the View and create teams support article.


Defaults when inviting new members

Inviting from Typetalk: If you invite a new member directly from Typetalk, that member’s Typetalk access is automatically be set to active.

Inviting from Backlog/Cacoo/Nulab Account: If you invite a new member to the organization using Nulab Account, that member’s Typetalk access is automatically set to inactive. You will need to activate their access manually (as above) if you wish to let them use Typetalk.

This way, you can better manage Typetalk access for members, and avoid unintentional billing caused by accidentally adding too many members to Typetalk.

For instructions on adding or removing members, refer to the Typetalk support guide: How do I add/remove someone from an organization?


How to automatically activate new members

If you’re only using Typetalk and no other Nulab services, you would likely prefer to have all new members automatically activated.

To do so, simply enable the toggle: Activate new users by default on the Members page.


As a member, how do I request access to Typetalk?

New or inactive members can request access from their Admins. As long as they are a member of the organization, they will see the following error page when accessing Typetalk.

Click on the Request Access button to send a request to the admins.

Administrators will receive the activation request via email. Then, they can go to the Typetalk Members page and activate the appropriate member.

Activated members will receive an email notifying them that their Typetalk access has been activated.


Billing for activated members only

Only activated members count towards billing on Typetalk. To check your number of activated members, just go to Settings > Members in Typetalk. The number of activated users will be displayed, along with the limit for the current plan.


What happens when you deactivate a member?

If you deactivate a member that was previously active, messages from that member will remain in their respective topics. However, their direct messages will no longer be accessible, and the member will no longer appear in the direct message list.

If you re-activate the member, they will automatically regain access to all previously invited topics and reappear in the direct message list.